1. Pelada
It's a story about two promising soccer players from the USA. One almost played in the premier league, and one, a college superstar had her career cut short because they were no league to play in women's soccer after she graduated college. These two are has beens who are not quite ready to leave the game yet. So, they traveled around the world to find the true meaning of soccer in pick up games. Hoping in the end to decide truly whether they're ready to give it up or not. Pick up soccer is what they call futsal in the USA and pelada means futsal in Portuguese. Interesting huh, they have different names for futsal. Interestingly, futsal is played differently all around the world and it carries different meanings and baggage for different people and cultures. This is eye opening to me. Growing up, I have dreams of becoming a pro athlete particularly a soccer player. But, that didnt really happen and it crushed me. But after watching this, I learned that any dream doesnt necessary die just like that. You can still play even though not in the highest level and still feel whole. You don't play for the fame, you play for the joy of it. As long as it brings you joy, no dream is left buried. My rating: 4.5/5
2. 50/50
JGL and Anna Kendrick. Need I say more? I'm in love with both of them. Seth Rogen is funny but I just find his humor a bit too offensive at times. But, it's fine. It's good movie. Anna plays as a rookie shrink who tries hard to help a cancer stricken JGL dealing with, well, cancer. Sometimes we try hard to help other people only to realize we just dont know how. Anna is really charming in this. It's not often that I almost fancy the female love interest in a movie esp with JGL in it. Nothing compares to my love towards JGL, but Anna is just love. And all the characters a re so good in this movie, including the actress who plays JGL's selfish gf. My rating : 4/5
3. Black Swan
Yes, its the oscar nominated movie starring natalie portman and sweet lips Mila kunis. Since the very beginning people when were hyping about the movie, I was pretty much the only person who was not hyped. I guess it obvious cause it came out prolly 3 years ago and I only choose to watch it this year. Turns out my gut feeling is correct. It explains why I never had any attention to watch it in the first place. I watched and I wasnt really into it. I was bored half way through it. Even skipped parts. It had all the promise of being a classic, starring Natalie portman and even winona ryder (whom is the poster girl of actors who play troubled and dark young girls, "Girl, Interuptted" ?? remember? A classic.) did a cameo And Natalie played a troubled ballet dancer who just wants to be recognized once and for all. And we all know there's a twist to the whole thing. I dont know however why this does not interest me at all. This seems to have all the recipes that I like in a movie. and it includes ballet and i always love any movie that revolves around dancing and it doesnt matter what genre it is. I love 'Save the last dance', 'billy elliot', and all the step up movies just to name a few. But, i just found this boring. It has an eye opening message though. It did manage to open my eyes about the real message theyre trying to portray. its just that theres something about this that does not resonate to me. My rating: 3/5
4. Now Is Good
Dakota Fanning (one of my favs) plays a dying girl with terminal cancer. Well' this is a classic tear jerker. There's Dakota Fanning, the love interest is cute and he is really good in this. Dakota's british accent really surprised me. For a moment i actually thought she was british and not american. if youve watched my sister's keeper, then it has the same message. how a young person dealing with inevitable death but most importantly how the people in her live were portrayed as well. altho dakota is the one who's dying, but actually the people around her are hurting more, because theyre the ones who will be left behind trying to pick up the pieces. its a really subtle movie i should say on how to decide how and when to let go. which ironically portrayed in this movie as no, we will never know and we will never be able to let go, ever. we just have to move on. my rating: 4/5
5. Pitch Perfect
Yeap, ya'll must know this one. Anna Kendrick again. and i ship her and brittany snow so hard. hah! Kays, nvm that. Well, i think this the funniest movie ive seen since Easy A. People tend to compare this to glee, but tbh, i dont see the similarities at all. this movie completely stands on its own. its so funny, and i loooooveeeee the harmonies. they dont go overboard with it. and skylar astin????? dude!!!!! you aint that good looking and i first saw you in Girls, (tv series, lena dunham just won a golden globe from the series and she beat tina fey!!!!) but you're a heartthrob. btw, skylar is anna's love interest in the movie. and fat amy ftw!!! she herself and her australian outback and indigenous jokes, i was done!! funny as hell. My rating: 4.9/5
6. The Impossible
Gosh, this is the hardest movie to watch, like ever. and i felt that even before i started watching just by reading the reviews and synopsis. Well its about a true story of an italian family who were the victims who survived the 2006 tsunami. it is portrayed in the movie tho by ewan mcgregor and naomi watts as a british family. but nevermind that. it is cos they wanted to make an english movie thats why they changed the italian family as british. plus the italian family actually picked the actors who played them, themselves. kays, i'll tell you why its hard for me to watch first. long time ago, during a semester break, i went on youtube and it was one of those days where i was in the weird part of youtube again. i stumbled upon a video footage taken by a tourist during the tsumani. live footage mind you of when it actually happened. this man, was holding the camera, he was at the beach house about prolly 200m from the beach, and as the water came in he saw and videotaped people at the beach being swollen by the water as the tsunami hit, finally when the water hit the beach resort where he was standing and videotaping, the beach house collapsed but he managed to tie his video camera to his wrist before the water swolled him. obviously he miraculously survived and so did his tape cos he managed to put it on youtube. i think the footage is still there on youtube if you want to see. but im warning you, its a bit well, hard to take, there little children clinging on trees, and being swept by strong current and theres nothing you can do about it. its tragic,and its there on youtube. so, i went on and watched more real life tsunami vids after that but only footage of the after math and after the water hit. which is less terrifying but still scary. my point is, watching those vids scared me so when i found out abt this movie (i think its in cinemas now, no>??? i dont know) anyway, when i found out abt this, i was like, hmmm this is going to be gruesome to watch esp if theyre going to recreate the actual tsunami in the movie. and i was right. it was scary to watch in so many levels, and gosh this is heartbreaking, a tear jerker. youre going to cry yes. naomi watts and ewan mcgregor are so good in this but thats to be expected. whats amazing is that the children who played the kids in this movie. i think i fell in love with lucas, the eldest, played by Tom Holland. I swear when i first saw him in this movie i thought he looked like jamie bell, the actor who played the title character in billy elliot. then i googled tom holland and turned out he started his career as billy elliot in a stage musical. what a coincident huh? so this movie is a must watch to me, tom holland is soooo good in this. my rating : 4.9/5
7. Silver Linings Playbook
well, need i say more about this? ya'll also know about this. J.LAW!!!!!! (Jennifer Lawrence, whom i fell in love after watching a winter's bone on mira's laptop) in her second movie which resulted in an oscar nom. she is amazing!!!!! shout out to everyone else who knew her before the hunger games. the sole reason why i watched this is because of the oscar hypes and J.LAW!! And i must say, she didnt disappoint, altho i think she will not win an oscar because she is up against jessica chastain who is so good in zero dark thirty (another movie i watched,but will not review cos its controversial, lets just say its a good movie, but it makes you wanna shoot well....no, i wont say it). so, this is a great movie. my fav line "i opened up to you, and you judged me" thats my fav line. and bradley cooper and j'law have great chem in this. this is perf. my rating: 4/5
8. Babies
its a documentary about 4 babies from 4 diff parts of the world, i watched it cos of the cuteness and i assure you its a must watch. its funny, charming, eye opening at the same time. and i fell in love with Bayar, the mongolian baby. and ya'll know i love babies. my rating: 5/5 (babies are perf)
so thats about it, i think i watched more but when i looked through my downloaded files, it only showed these 8 movies. maybe cos i rewatched a lot of old movies like a winter's bone, gia, we need to talk about kevin, and school of rock. so ill leave you with a current movie that im currently downloading and gonna watch once its finished. its called "Julia." starring my new love, oscar winning most underrated actress (i stand by underrated altho she won an oscar) Tilda Swinton (she was the white witch in narnia, and kevin's mum in we need to talk abt kevin, that is if you dont know her by name), cant wait to watch this.
5. Pitch Perfect
Yeap, ya'll must know this one. Anna Kendrick again. and i ship her and brittany snow so hard. hah! Kays, nvm that. Well, i think this the funniest movie ive seen since Easy A. People tend to compare this to glee, but tbh, i dont see the similarities at all. this movie completely stands on its own. its so funny, and i loooooveeeee the harmonies. they dont go overboard with it. and skylar astin????? dude!!!!! you aint that good looking and i first saw you in Girls, (tv series, lena dunham just won a golden globe from the series and she beat tina fey!!!!) but you're a heartthrob. btw, skylar is anna's love interest in the movie. and fat amy ftw!!! she herself and her australian outback and indigenous jokes, i was done!! funny as hell. My rating: 4.9/5
6. The Impossible
Gosh, this is the hardest movie to watch, like ever. and i felt that even before i started watching just by reading the reviews and synopsis. Well its about a true story of an italian family who were the victims who survived the 2006 tsunami. it is portrayed in the movie tho by ewan mcgregor and naomi watts as a british family. but nevermind that. it is cos they wanted to make an english movie thats why they changed the italian family as british. plus the italian family actually picked the actors who played them, themselves. kays, i'll tell you why its hard for me to watch first. long time ago, during a semester break, i went on youtube and it was one of those days where i was in the weird part of youtube again. i stumbled upon a video footage taken by a tourist during the tsumani. live footage mind you of when it actually happened. this man, was holding the camera, he was at the beach house about prolly 200m from the beach, and as the water came in he saw and videotaped people at the beach being swollen by the water as the tsunami hit, finally when the water hit the beach resort where he was standing and videotaping, the beach house collapsed but he managed to tie his video camera to his wrist before the water swolled him. obviously he miraculously survived and so did his tape cos he managed to put it on youtube. i think the footage is still there on youtube if you want to see. but im warning you, its a bit well, hard to take, there little children clinging on trees, and being swept by strong current and theres nothing you can do about it. its tragic,and its there on youtube. so, i went on and watched more real life tsunami vids after that but only footage of the after math and after the water hit. which is less terrifying but still scary. my point is, watching those vids scared me so when i found out abt this movie (i think its in cinemas now, no>??? i dont know) anyway, when i found out abt this, i was like, hmmm this is going to be gruesome to watch esp if theyre going to recreate the actual tsunami in the movie. and i was right. it was scary to watch in so many levels, and gosh this is heartbreaking, a tear jerker. youre going to cry yes. naomi watts and ewan mcgregor are so good in this but thats to be expected. whats amazing is that the children who played the kids in this movie. i think i fell in love with lucas, the eldest, played by Tom Holland. I swear when i first saw him in this movie i thought he looked like jamie bell, the actor who played the title character in billy elliot. then i googled tom holland and turned out he started his career as billy elliot in a stage musical. what a coincident huh? so this movie is a must watch to me, tom holland is soooo good in this. my rating : 4.9/5
7. Silver Linings Playbook
8. Babies
so thats about it, i think i watched more but when i looked through my downloaded files, it only showed these 8 movies. maybe cos i rewatched a lot of old movies like a winter's bone, gia, we need to talk about kevin, and school of rock. so ill leave you with a current movie that im currently downloading and gonna watch once its finished. its called "Julia." starring my new love, oscar winning most underrated actress (i stand by underrated altho she won an oscar) Tilda Swinton (she was the white witch in narnia, and kevin's mum in we need to talk abt kevin, that is if you dont know her by name), cant wait to watch this.
so i hope this will help you if youre bored and dont know what movie to download. i mean no harm and didnt mean to bore you in any way. i doubt that you will read the whole post anyway.
(i stopped about 3 times just to go poop and puke while writing this post)



2 comments:
i read the whole post! duhh
yg now is good, the last line, i always say that, remember? hehe
i dont know who you are creature who just commented....but all i have to say to whoever you are is that... easier said that done...... (pinoe)
Post a Comment